Illinois - ccw - current status?

aikidoka - mks

Right now I live in NW Indiana - very nice when it comes to firearms and ccw :) BUT It is possible my next new job will take me to far into Illinois to commute as I have been doing for the past 8 years.

Im irritated with the FOID card as it is. I know CCW is not allowed in Illinois but is this fanny pack loophole still available or did the legislative scum obliterate it? Is a CCW law in the works or is it dying in committee?

I may end up working in Joliet and the towns out that way seem to be a bit more gun friendly according to a friend of mine but I have no way of verifying that. To bad O'Malley didnt make it :-(

Thanks,

Mark

LonWilson

Not a chance.

HB401 is the only bill, AFAIK, for CCW reform in Illinois.

However, the House of Representatives will never pass it (Speaker Mike Madigan is a democrat, and a Daley flunky), or even allow it to get out of committee.

Oh, it gets even better. It's looking more and more like Rod Blagojevich is going to win the governorship, and he stated a few years ago that he wanted to ban civilian handgun ownership outright.

Illinois may become the first state to ban handguns entirely. Chicago controls the entire state, and the downstate "hunters and sportsman" can't even muster the votes to override the idiot voters in the Chicago/Lake County area. Awful situation.

The only case winding it's way through the courts is Morley v. Daley, and that's a case being pursued by Concealed Carry, Inc. However, court cases take years....

aikidoka - mks

Yep I think Blagojevich is going to get in. The media in Chicago are so biased. I didnt know that there was a case that ruled in favor of someone who carried in the manner of that fanny pack loophole. I think they did make a bit deal about even the idea that this was legal but oh have a court say it is and not a peep.