If I'm just getting started...

Harry Callahan

Hey guys,
This reloading thing has me intrigued. Knowing what you know now could you tell me what equipment you would get if you were just starting out again? Also, could you give me a ballpark price of what each component would cost? I'm talking press, dies, powder, everything. TIA.

CrustyFN

I think the Lee classic turret press is a great starter press if 200 rounds per hour will meet your needs. It is very easy for a beginner to setup and operate. It is inexpensive to add calibers to. I have one and am very happy with the ammo it produces. You can buy a kit at www.kempfgunshop.com for $149. If you go to the Lee web site in the video section you can see a video of the classic in action. As far as components I buy in bulk so I get some great prices. I get primers for $16 per thousand and powder for around $11 per pound. Look at http://powdervalleyinc.com/ and https://www.grafs.com/index.php for some good deals on powder and primers. I have also been getting a good deal on Zero bullets at Powder Valley.
Rusty

The Lovemaster

I think I'd probably buy Lee dies instead of RCBS. I find I'm replacing my RCBS with Lee now, solely for ease of adjustment and use. Both products are high quality, but I think the Lees have more innovation and "outside the box" thinking behind them. Examples - adjusting the lock ring is a lot easier on Lee, as there is no lock - just a rubber o-ring. Also, removing a stuck case is a lot easier on a Lee.

On the other hand, I have an old RCBS Rock Chucker press that works great. I also like my RCBS Uniflow powder measure. I have an old Redding scale that does fine. One thing I would definitely recommend, though is a magnetic damped scale.

BigJakeJ1s

Knowing what I know now, including that I'd like reloading and stick with it, I'd buy better equipment to start with. But you don't know that, so I would not suggest that for you.