I want to purchase my first revolver.

7jinxed7

I have been buying nothing buy polymer frame autos for several years now Glocks,M&P's and the recent LCP. I'm tired of the stupid trigger safeties and just burnt out on the polymer frames. I want something a little different,something solid, accurate and durable suitable for possible carry.

I have shot revolvers but only a hand full of times. I've shot the S&W 13-2 with 38's which I own and a Charter off duty 38 special no longer operational. The S&W is sentimental so I don't want to shoot it much.

I handled one of the S&W 442's and this is the best feeling revolver I have ever held,I love it. I really want this revolver and feel it's a good choice for it's role. What do you more experienced revolver guys think about the 442 and the 642 models? Any input on them? So it's not really my first revolver but my first revolver purchase thats what I want.

Vividia

Have both a 442 and a kahr pm9 for daily carry. I prefer the 442 with hornady critical defense.

I have a 627PC and a 66-1 loaded at all times in the house, with a 1911 and its mag close by. Nothing like a revolver for point and shoot reliability tho.

Billy Shears

Ruger sp101

What he said.

It's just my opinion and I know that ain't worth much, but I think the SP-101 is about the most versatile revolver out there. It does a lot of things very well. Rugged, reliable, affordable, concealable yet still with enough heft to be controllable. And I think they look good too.

Again, just my opinion. And if you aren't a Ruger fan then I'd say get one of the S&W 637s. That's a lot of value for the money.

dyl

Hey there, I have a 642 which compared to my M&P40c is much easier to carry. I mostly pocket carry.

If you're looking for info lots of owner's feedback, you can google "642 club" on The High Road (I'm not completely sure if I'm allowed to mention another forum on here)