I want a .17HMR!

Ok, thats it, I want one....What should I get? Something cheap, but something that'll work...I really don't know much about the cartridge.

TPAW

Optical Senerity

My son and I both have the Marlin 917V .17 HMR. They are tack drivers! At 50 yards ONE HOLE! At 100 yards, clover leaf that can easily be covered with a dime!
Very happy and satisfied. If you get one, try different brands of ammo to see what the rifle likes.
Point of interest! My son broke his in "the proper way" and I just started shooting from the box. Both produced equally when we switched off rifles to one another. Just a few adjustments on the scopes were necessary.

American4guns

I bought a savage 17HMR with heavey stainless barrel and bushnel 3x9 scope.
I tried to sight it in on a windy day and it was still pretty accurate at 50 yard.
I love it.I paid 239 for the rifle scope combo.Check out the savage sight.IMO savage makes a quality rifle for anice price.The only thing i wish it had was the accu trigger

gamma

+1 on the Savage.

My brother shoots a synthetic stock stainless barrel .17 HMR Savagel with consistent 1/2" 5 shot groups at 100 yds. He uses the cheap plastic rests that the range has. He's no professional either as the .17 is his first and only rifle. Hell, even I shoot well with his Savage.

And the rifle was in the $220.00 range from Wal-Mart.

FirstFreedom

Shoot, the blued/wood Marlin is like $169 or $179 tops, and that's with a heavy barrel. The synthetic one should cost less than that. I'd go with the Marlin if there's that much price difference.

esldude

Marlin or Savage. Eithe will shoot very well. Savage has been coming out with Accutrigger on their rimfires. That would make the decision to me currently. But I have seen either shoot very nicely.

tennsooner