I got my second wheel gun. It's a doozy.

LockedBreech

Well, all, my first revolver was a Colt Detective Special, a 2nd-gen 1968 in .38 Special. Looks like my second is a pony as well.

I graduated law school recently, and my father presented me with a 4" blued Colt Python .357, which my late grandfather carried as a police officer in Los Angeles.

Best of all? It has lived the life of a duty gun, then a training gun for my dad. It has about 8,000-10,000 rounds through it. Meaning I can actually shoot the thing. I have it loaded with 125-grain Speer Gold Dots on the nightstand.

Having some trouble with Imageshack, but I'll get a pic up ASAP.

JimmyR

You know, I have to say that if I had to pick between a gun that had family history, given to me on a memorable occasion, I wouldn't care if it was a jennings or a hi point, I'd keep it over a Python.

The fact that yours is a Python makes me even more jealous. Treasure it well. You have a gun that has seen two generations of use, and now it's your reponsibility to pass on it's legacy, and add to it's future.

Enjoy.

SaxonPig

Congratulations. My wife is an attorney (still trying to cope with the notion).

I didn't realize the LAPD ever authorized 357 Magnums for duty. Was ammo restricted to 38 Special?

Even with substantial wear any Python is a valuable revolver. The family connection makes valuable beyond money. I'd give anything to have one of my dad's guns but I was 2 when he died and mom sold them so we could eat.

LockedBreech

JimmyR, I couldn't agree more, and I'll do my best to be worth it.

Saxon, I think he was actually a UCLA police officer and/or one of the outlying LA sub-communities, not with LAPD itself.

dgludwig

One of my daughters is an attorney-don't know where I went wrong. ;) But you've got a real piece of family history. Treat it with the respect it deserves but shoot it without worry. That's what guns are made for and I'm sure your grandfather would approve.

KTKT70