I didn't buy it, maybe you should?

Sevens

So let's say you were in the market for a particular gun. It's not currently made in the caliber you seek, so you know full well that you'll find it used when you find it.

Let's say you go in to a gun shop, and you have plenty of cash in hand that you've already earmarked for the purchase of this gun. And it just so happens that they have one, in great condition, and it's got a decent price on it.

Why wouldn't you buy it?

Well, I was bummed. I grew up in Michigan and bought my first 5 or so guns there. But I can't buy a handgun from a gun store in Michigan because I'm an Ohio resident now. I suppose I could purchase it and have it shipped to an FFL at home, but that would kill the decent price because I'd have to foot the bill for shipping from Michigan and receiving on the Ohio FFL's end.

For the curious, it was a nice Ruger Blackhawk in .30 Carbine for $369. :( Maybe you want it... it's at Guns Galore in Fenton. I can't buy it.

Ahh, it's not the worst thing in the world. It's not all that hard to find... I'll get one.

Lurch37

You would spend a minimum of another what $40 or so. My FFL here charges $25 for the transfer plus whatever it cost to ship. FFL to FFL can go USPS for about $15 or so.

At $410, it's still not a bad price.

KyJim

if possible have mich. resident purchase and then sell to you

No, this a violation of federal law. Remember that question where it asks if you are the true purchaser?

Keep in mind that the cost of the transfer fee may be offset by the sales tax you don't have to pay. Check with the dealer in Michigan but I don't think they will charge the tax.

Aquanewt

I think it would be worth the troble to get the gun sent to your dealer in Ohio. It's what you want, you have the cash and it's a good price. You could end up spending more for one that's not in as good shape.

garryc