Hydra Shoks Feed?

NeverAgain26

I searched the forums for Hydra Shok's reliability to feed in semi-automatics and didn't come up with much (which is strange because I do recall seeing some threads on this in the past).

My questions is this:

I see a lot of people extolling the virtues of Hydra Shoks. I bought some and am reserving them for a rainy day. I have no experience with using them so I do not know how they feed/cycle in my guns.

I just finished reading "The Semi-Automatic Pistol in Police Service and Self-Defense" by Massad Ayoob. In it, he recommends JHP's for stopping power and their tendency not to over penetrate. However, he cautions that they may not feed properly in some guns.

He also recommends that one run 200 rounds of the ammo you want to use through the gun you want to use without any FT Feeds to determine reliability. At the current price of Hydra Shoks, this is a pretty pricey proposition.

Has anyone here done this? Have you experienced any problems with cycling or feeding them in your guns? I have them in 9mm for my Beretta 9000 and 45 for my Kimber CE II so if anyone has those guns, I would especially like to hear of our experience.

Thanks in advance for your help.

NA26

Country Boy

I have a 9mm Hi-Power and a .45 Springfield 1911A1. Hydra-Shoks go through each of them like corn through a goose. (In other words, no feeding problems.)

As far as expense goes, 200 rounds is 10 boxes, and with each box at $13-15, that's $130-$150 to see if they function reliably in your gun. That's pretty cheap life insurance, as far as I'm concerned.

Dave T

Since each gun is an entity unto itself, other people's experience with Hydra-Shok in their handguns is not of much use to you. You will have to test it yourself. I could have the exact same models that you have and the fact that my guns feed a particular factory load doesn't tell you much about your guns.

AK103K