Hunting with AR

Miller77

Im planning on getting a new rifle some time in the near future. I want some thing that i can use for deer, bear and possibly elk hunting. I am leaning towards a 308. I want the gun to be accurate and fun to shoot at the range but i will also be using it for hunting. I am thinking about a DPMS LR-308 or the Rock River Arms LAR-8 Varmint A4. I like those because of the stainless barrels and the good accuracy. The only concern i have is that they weigh 11 some pounds and i can foresee them being a pain to carry around. Does any one have any experience hunting with these guns or others that are similar?

snipecatcher

I have a Bushmaster Predator that I have hunted with several times, and walked up to ~4 miles. It is a heavy rifle. I prefer my synthetic stock Savage because it weighs a WHOLE lot less than the AR and the AR is just sort of unwieldy when walking through brush/etc. While there is nothing wrong with hunting with an AR, you should also take into account the odd looks and possible harassment you may get while after elk or the like with one. I would suggest getting an AR in 223 because it is cheaper/more fun to shoot (less recoil) and having a second gun (lightweight bolt action in something like .270 or 30/06) for hunting.
-Dan

You could get a .223 size AR in 6.5 Grendel, close enough to a .308 or .260 for hunting purposes/ranges. And allows standard AR spare uppers (.22LR for plinking or small game, .458 Socom for brush or hog hunting with .45/70 or 12 Ga slug level close range power, in unmodified .223 mags also, you can even get a 10 rd side mag fed .50 BMG bolt action upper for it). That 6.5 could be around 7 lbs. dry including glass

Miller77