How wheel guns can be accurate!

HankC1

Can someone explain how wheel guns can be accurate while bullets have to travel down free bore, forcing cone before engaging the rifling. Pistols and rifles try to minimize free bore, tight headspace and seat the bullet close to rifling in order to be accurate! I have seen some amazing groups out of wheel guns, so what to make a wheel gun accurate. When reloading, it is also said OAL is not critical if rimmed cartridges such as 38 SPCL, then what is critical when reloading for wheel guns for accuracy?

Rogervzv

Wheel guns are very accurate.

I have found that a good trigger and a good front sight are the two factors, in addition to barrel length (6" is my fav) for accuracy.

WC145

I've never given it much thought, maybe what happens to the bullet before it engages the rifling doesn't matter so much, as long as it engages cleanly.

reddog81

I'm no expert but I'm guessing a big part is due to the fact that the sights and barrel on a revolver are always 100% fixed. In a 1911 for example you have barrel/barrel bushing alignment, slide/barrel alignment, locking lug/slide alignment to factor in. Each of these interfaces has tolerances that factor into the inherent accuracy of a pistol.

Additionally I find most revolver triggers to be better.

Pond James Pond

I would imagine that the barrel being so rigidly held in the frame (unlike the barrel in a semi automatic that is hanging there, not attached to anything, merely pinned in place).

So the bullet is in a free-bore for a bit.... once it hits the rifling, the relationship between sights and the bore the bullet is travelling down will be exactly the same as the preceding bullet. In a semi that relationship will depend on how tightly the chamber on the barrel mates with the breech-face when the slide closes and that depends on how well the slide mates to the frame etc...

That is my guess, anyway....

And I see I've been beaten to that conclusion!!
:eek:

testuser79