How Many Times Can You Chamber a Round

FLA2760

Hi Everyone
I wipe my Glock27 down every night with a silicone "gun cloth". I first remove the magazine and clear the chamber. The first round in the magazine and the one in the chamber are being rotated every other day as a result of this. Will this adversly effect these rounds and result in a failure? I have Mag Tech Gold 180 gr. hollow points in the gun. Thank You for your reply.
Steve :confused:

Flashpoint

I'm no bullet expert, but I do know that you need to pay close attention to bullet set back. If you don't you run the risk of your G27 being another Kaboom statistic.

Last edited:

wyrdone

There is no hard and fast rule. What you have to wach for is bullet setback as the previous poster mentioned.

Some rounds set back more than others.

Some of my Makarov rounds have an anti-setback dimple in each of the cases (Brown Bear bimetal 115gr JHP) that prevents the bullet seating any father back than the dimple. This is done at the factory.

Dfariswheel

I recommend keeping a UNUSED, un-chambered factory round handy to use as a "gage" to check for set back.

Doing what you are doing as daily routine is what caused some early problems when the police began the transition to the auto pistol.

In the early days of the transition, the police where having "second round stoppages". They'd fire their first round, and the second would fail to feed.

This was traced to the daily inspection method you're using, in which the SAME two rounds were constantly being chambered.
The daily slamming of the bullet into the feed ramp was pushing the bullets back into the case, and this caused the feed problem.

Modern defense ammo is manufactured to withstand at least SOME repeat chambering before repetition begins to push the bullet back to unsafe depths, but your best course of action is to rotate the ammo, so the same two aren't used constantly.