How Many EDC Full Size Guns VS. Compact Guns?

mk70ss

I have been carrying a SA Hellcat for awhile now. Recently I purchased a Beretta 92X Compact which I shoot very well and really like. I picked up a few 15 round mags for it and decided to start carrying it concealed. The Beretta is called a “compact”but it’s still pretty good size compared to the Hellcat. How many out there carry a “full sized” semi auto on a daily basis?

AK103K

Ive been carrying one on a daily basis for almost 45 years now. Started with Colt GM and Commander, switched up to a P220, then P226, and for the past 11 years or so now, a Glock 17.

Tried a couple of others in there too, they just didn't last as long as those above.

Big Shrek

Depends entirely on how I intend to dress for the day, where I'm going, and what I plan to do when I get there...
Some days it's the full size 10mm Witness and 3 spare mags, some days it's a .32acp in a pocket...
or anything in between...nice to have options :)

jr24

My preference is 4" (or thereabouts) barrel and about 5-5.25" overall height for my best compromise between shooting and concealment. I also need it to be, loaded, under about 38 oz or so for my back. Anything more and I start having pain nightly.

That includes any of the Glock 19 sized polymers, CZ P01, Sig 229 (226 can work but is a bit heavy, it has a shorter grip, relatively) some HK options, etc.

Many of those are listed as "compact" but all are more of a duty size.

Anything smaller and I just don't like the results on the range, especially rapid fire and movement. I'm lucky enough that a Glock 19 conceals just fine under a light t-shirt, so I don't really need to make any hard choices there.

Edit: my only deference to daily change (weather, etc) is if I'm wearing a coat or sweatshirt and heading to the city, I might swap to extended magazines for the gun and spares.

Last edited:

GarandTd