How long would your your magazines being loaded.

stdalire

I keep thinking how many hours/days/week does gunners keeping their magazines loaded.

My practice is, if for my home defense gun, during the night I will load 3 to 4 magazines . Then the following morming before I go to work I will unload 3 mags and let 1 mag loaded. When I got home from work again, on the night I will load the empty 3 mags, and unload the 1 mag that I left loaded but I return the bullets after several minutes when I think that the magazine spring stress is gone.

How about your practices, how would you treat your mags.

Thanks

[This message has been edited by stdalire (edited May 16, 2000).]

Laz

I'm no expert but everything I have learned leads me to believe that constant loading and unloading is harder on the magazine spring than leaving it loaded. I have talked to at least a couple of gun manufacturers who told me their magazines are designed to be loaded fully indefinitely. There are good threads on this subject on rec.guns and shooters.com and no doubt here. Hope this helps. My .02 anyway.

------------------
Lazarus

Coronach

This is, like, the mother of all controversies. Everyone has a different scheme, or no scheme at all, and you know what? It doesn't seem to make a damn bit of difference. ;)

Short answer: nobody knows.

I swap mine out every few weeks. Have yet to have one fail.

Mike

------------------
"A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects." -Robert Heinlein

FUD