How exactly does a gunbelt help?

My870inVT

This is a serious question. I have been carrying for a few months now. I have a galco IWB holster (outside belt clip type) that sits low in my waistband at almost exactly 6 O'clock. It's not comfy anywhere else. I usually wear jeans, not as high up (belly button) and by no means gangster. I wear a belt that is about 1 1/2 inches wide and fairly thick leather. For the most part I like my set up and I can live with it, but I'm stuck in between two styles of dress/carry.

If I want my holster to feel 100% secure and pressed tight enough against my body to be concealed in any dress attire, I have to tichten my belt really tight and pull my pants up uncomfortably high. I'll usually fo this when wearing lighter clothes to make sure that the handle of my SIGMA is pressed nice and tight into the small of my back at 6 oclock.

BUT, If I dont want a dang gun poking me in the back and feeling like my pants are way too tight, I'll loosen up my belt and let my pants sit comfortably just below my hips. the only problem with this is that the handle of my gun will print REALLY bad when i lean forward.

My question is, Does a real gunblelt relieve these problems by keeping the gun closer to my body while still being comfortable? Or is the problem actually my holster?

Kyo

could be both.
a gun belt helps because it stays in its form even after you have a 2lb+ gun on it all day long every day for ever. Could be your holster as well. Never know. A gun belt made all the difference for me. Still comfortable for casual wear, but great for the gun added to it through the holster

Huevos