How did you guys learn to shoot?

Camaro81

I'm new to guns. Noone in my family or any friends are really interested in them. I should be getting my Pistol Permit within the next few weeks(may or may not be restricted-who knows). I'm just curious how you guys learned how to shoot? Should I invest in taking a class or getting an instructor? Does anyone have any links to get me the basics?

I'm currently in college in NY and am extremely interested in going into law enforcement eventually so I want to learn the 100% correct way to shoot a pistol now so I don't have to re-learn in the academy and shake off any bad habits. Any help is appreciated!

Shorts

Get into an instruction class if you can. Go down to local gun shops/ranges and ask the shops guys there if any classes are available or if they have the # for a local LEO or shooting instructor. That should get you going in the right direction.

I learned to shoot from my dad. He always had rifles around the house. I was never interested in shooting my own gun until I was 14, which my dad got me a BB gun. From there I progressed. We eventually started hunting since now dad a hunting buddy to go with :D

Last edited:

Handy

I started with a Ruger .22 and shot it every which way - slow fire, quick plinking, bench rested - always at decent ranges (15 to 50 yards). Then I did the same thing with a centerfire until the gun offered no surprises and joined an IDPA club. IDPA is not perfect, but it will teach you to shoot and handle a gun in a combat type environment under stress.

seb5