How Are You REALLY Supposed To Zero?

Single Six

Some years back I read an article entitled "How To Zero Like A Sniper". The preferred method for sighting in a rifle {according to this article} was to start with a clean rifle, fire one shot, swab the bore, fire another shot, swab the bore...you get the idea. Now, I'm no newbie to firearms by any stretch of the imagination, but I am on fairly new ground when it comes to rifles, handguns being my lifelong forte'. So I need some experienced rifle guys to tell me: Is this "sniper method" valid, and if not, how do YOU guys go about zeroing in?

Last edited:

PawPaw

I'm no sniper, but I worked with several over the years. Those guys were magnificent marksmen, but when I was on the range with them, I don't ever remember seeing a cleaning rod.

Our police marksmen carry a rod in their rifle cases, but they don't take them out on the line as a normal part of the firing sequence.

Most of those guys zero their rifles like I zero mine. After they discover the ammo (or load) the rifle likes best, they adjust the sights so that the point of aim coincides with the point of impact.

taylorce1

If I put a new scope on I bore sight the rifle. I then take it to the range and fire a shot. If I'm on paper I'll fire two more, if I'm not on paper I'll adjust the necessary clicks to move the shot onto paper. Once I'm on paper I fire a three shot group, and draw a triangle on paper. Once I've drawn my triangle I estimate the center of the triangle and make my scope adjustments from that point to the bullseye.

If I'm checking zero with a previously zeroed rifle and known load I usually just fire a group of three and adjust the same as above. However I'll adjust for MPBR of my load. Usually somewhere between 2-3" above the bullseye at 100 yards.

Rcinit