Horseback CCW

RsqVet

Hello all --

Question I can't seem to find much direction on --- Ideas on CCW while mounted? I specifically want to carry concealed for several reasons though open carry here in AZ is legal.

The guns to chose from in no particular order are -- Glock 26, Ruger Sp101, Sig 232, Sig 229

Though I have never used SOB holsters before my first thought is that one of the smaller guns in the SOB positoin would work the best. This will only be trail riding, however the thought of a larger gun or strong side carry in a tight concellment holster has me thinking of rubbing and discomfort...

Ideally should be able to stay concealed while mounting dismounting etc, maybe have a thumb break as well for security... anyone make a sob with a thumb break?

Pocket holster for my jeans?

Pack of some sort?

I'm thinking that the ruger or glock would be the best for all the dust and such that is will be exposed to?

Any thoughts???

rmagill

I am by no means an expert, but here is my .02 worth. For starters, I would not go with a SOB. First, it is a concern if someone just walking falls on their back because they could injure their spine. Now, the injuring effects of the fall would only be made worse if you were to fall off of the horse. However, if that is the best option for you, so be it.

If you are concerned about rubbing the rubbing issue with an IWB, you have a few options. First, if it is a good holster, it should not move around all that much. Also, you could purchase an IWB with a guard that goes between you and the gun. If nothing else, this would aid in the comfort.

However, if you find that IWB just will not work, perhaps an OWB holster would be a better option. Personally, if you decide that a thumb break is needed, I have seen more OWB holsters with thumb breaks than IWBs with thumb breaks.