Hoping for an answer

the45er

I have been reloading for and shooting 40 S&Ws and 45 ACP's for several years not. I haven't had a 9 mm in years. A few months ago I bought a SIG P938 SAS and loaded some rounds using 115 grain Berry's RN over 4.6 grains of IMR 7625. I used this rather unusual powder because I had a few pounds of it left over from past uses. It shot well - accurate enough for a micro-compact gun and never jammed.

Fast forward to yesterday when I picked up my brand new Ruger SR1911 9mm Target. I loaded the clips and started shooting. Over 1/2 the time, these loads would not eject the empty casing. I'd shoot, try to shoot again only to realize that the slide was not back and was over a spent casing in the chamber. I had a box of factory loads. Shot all 50 of them without a hiccup.

Now, I'm not sure whether to (1) shoot 200+ factory rounds and see if the pistol loosens up, (2) boost up the powder weight from 4.6 to 4.9 [MAX listed by Hodgdon] and see what happens, or (3) switch to another powder and/or heavier bullet?

I realize that I could pretty easily try all three of these options myself, but I'd like to know what TFL forum folks think. Also, any recommendation for a good 9mm powder? I use Unique in my 45 ACPs and Bullseye for my 40's.

Thank you.

USSR

the45er,

An old IMR reloading manual I have lists 5.1gr of SR-7625 for a 115gr bullet, but that is for a jacketed bullet, so I would bump up your charge weight to 4.9gr and see what that does for you. Great powder. I use it, but not for 9mm.

Don