History Channel's Tales of the Gun

Miami_JBT

I picked up the History Channel's Tales of the Gun collection on DVD. All thirty three episodes for $59.00. I remember watching these episodes as a young fourteen year old with my father in the living room. We especially loved the S&W episode and the episode on Police Guns. My father of course being a cop and a S&W fan. Also I swear that Discovery Channel aired those episodes first. I know I didn't have the History Channel as a kid.

Thirteen years and now I'm a 27 year old cop and Army Vet. Yet I can still watch these episodes as wide eyed as I did back then. What is kinda funny is in some issues they talk about what guns might be like in 2010. The cops that they talk to think that we'd have phasers and computerized targeting systems. Some of which has been fielded by now (Army's new Grenade Launcher comes to mind). But the majority of it is still the same as when these episodes were filmed.

All in all, even though the series is a little outdated and was filmed in the height of the AWB. It's pretty damn entertaining and informative. Oh.... the majority of cops and talking heads interviewed show their disdain of an armed civilian populace.

egor20

Oh.... the majority of cops and talking heads interviewed show their disdain of an armed civilian populace.

Long story short, I have a Detective whose daughter (13) boards her horse with us that enjoys the fact that most of us carry. I also had an officer who used to sneer at my farm hands when he got his horse out of the stable.

Guess which one no longer boards with me.

I know there are a lot of LEOs that don't enjoy an armed society....
All I have to say is:

Don't screw up to give them a reason not to

OK OK.............. Rant over

RickB