Hi-Capacity .45 ACP?

Xfire68

I have long been a fan of the .45 ACP but I have yet to own one. I want a "High-Capacity" 10++ rounds or more and would prefer 14+1.

I have looked at Para Ordnance as a option but have read a few negative things about there customer service and the finish having durability problems. I am not counting them out yet but, would like to hear all and any about them and any other that fits my requirements?

The CZ 97 is another that I have been eyeballing seeing how it's close to the same as my CZ 75B which I love!

What do you all feel about FN Herstal? I have zero experience with the company as well as their guns.

This will mainly be used for target shooting but also as a HD gun when not at the range.

sksmatt

Just to name a few :)...

Glock 21 full size = 13+1

Glock 30 compact = 10+1

Springfield XD45 = 13+1

Springfield GI 1911 wide = 13+1

HK USP45 = 12+1

Taurus 24/7 45 = 12+1

Taurus PT845 = 12+1

The only 14+1 45acp hi-caps I know of are the
Para Ord 1911 and the FN FNP 45.

Last edited:

Dino.

I had a "high capacity" .45 back in the day.
It was a Starr "Mega Star", IIRC.

I think I remember it holding 14+ rounds.
One of the smoothest actions I've ever felt in a gun.
It's one of many pistols I regret selling. :(

Rayndeon

I would recommend, not necessarily in this order,
  • CZ 97: If you love the CZ 75B, the controls are very similar here. Again, being a double-stack .45, you may find the grip a little thick.
  • HK45: Probably the most ergonomic double-stack .45 on the planet. DA/SA with cocked-and-locked like the CZ and the earlier USP .45. Very reliable, a great gun all around.
  • Jericho/Baby Eagle .45: A great CZ clone, a very, very nice handgun. Mangum Research and Charles Daly used to import these, but you can find plenty of used ones. Only problem with it is that the safety is on the slide. DA/SA only with combined safety/decocker, although it can't be carried cocked-and-locked.