Help me spend my money

Jezz

So iv decided to buy myself a new rifle with this year’s tax check. I presently have a CZ 452 .22lr and a Tikka T3 .223, so im thinking its time add a rifle capable of bigger game.

I presently only really shoot rabbits, foxes and kangaroos (with the proper permits of course) id like to start getting in to goat, deer and feral pig shooting, so id like to choose a caliber suitable for that, some suggestions have been the .308, 7mm, .300wm, 30-06 and the .270. i have to say i do like the look of the .270 as it’s a fairly diverse caliber, but i have no real experience with bigger centre fire so any input would be great.

So what calibers and set ups do you guys use for deer, pigs and goats?

Tim R

The 270 Win is a fine caliber and will do what you want it to do and more. I would also look at the 30-06 and 308. I know, I know you would rather have a 303. But there is a very wide varity of bullet weights available.

I hunt with a Winchester Feather Weight XTR in 30-06. It has never let me down. It kicks hard when shooting at paper targets but when the cross hairs are on a animal, there is no kick and no boom. ;)

Another caliber I would look at is 243. It should do what you want without killing your shoulder.

phil mcwilliam

Nothing wrong with a .270, .308 or 30/06 for what you intend to hunt- anything bigger is just going to make more noise & recoil more - your choice though.
Ive hunted deer in South Australia & you have mainly Fallow & Reds, which are found in numbers in the south-east of your state, close to the Victorian boarder. If you travel into Victoria you will need a .270 minimum to hunt Reds & Sambar deer by law, although a .243 is ok for the smaller fallow. I couldn't see where you are restricted by law to the minimum caliber for deer hunting in South Australia, but better to get minimum .270 in case you ever want to hunt Victoria in future.
If you have a gun that covers deer,then pigs & goats wont be a problem.