Help choosing a model M1a

Kraziken

So initially, I was attracted to the short barrelled versions of the M1a, first the Socom II, then the Socom 16. But now I'm leaning toward a Scout in 18" barrel, it looks nicely balanced. It still gives up 4" to the normal 22" m1a.

Am I losing much bullet performance or accuracy with the loss of 4 inches?

Thanks

sholling

I'm far from an expert on M1As but I chose the Scout as a nice combination of handiness and range. The gurus tell me it should be good for 800yds. That's way farther than my eyes are good for. The only thing about the M1A in general is that they weren't designed to be scoped. It can be done and there are lots of mounts but none floats my boat. That's ok with me because plan to mainly use it with open sights, but I do have a Bassett scope mount and a Karsten cheek rest should I decide to use a scope.

roklok

I went with the "Bush Rifle" model which is not seen very often anymore. It is the same as the Scout, except with a flash hider and without forward optics rail. I believe it or the Scout is a good choice, enough barrel to get good performance but still be handy in confined spaces. If you mount optics, you may even see better accuracy as compared to a standard 22" as the barrel should be a bit stiffer. Mine is an excellent shooter.

madcratebuilder

With the M1A the function of the gas system and the fit of the receiver/barrel assembly in the stock effect accuracy more than barrel length. You well see little if any difference with the shorter barrel.

KChen986

If I never planned to turn my M1A in to an extreme long distance shooter, I would think that the 18" is a far better all around rifle.

As others have said, 18" gives you enough velocity and, being shorter gives the barrel greater rigidity. Further, an 18" barrel is far more maneuverable than a 22" barrel--especially because you're tacking on 2" with a flashhider.