Help a novice get the right start on getting the right AR

SEKLEM

I'm learning about ARs but I'm still a novice. I'm not sure if it's a good idea for me to build an AR or buy one. Do I need more than a novice level of knowledge to build a quality AR?

A smidgen of history - About a year ago I acquired in a trade a Bushmaster XM15-E2S with the fixed A2 handle. It was heavy, the stock didn't fit properly on the buffer tube, and I generally wasn't impressed with it. I traded it off and got another handgun that I really wanted.

Yesterday I happened across a genuine Eotech 512.A65 for a song and my interest in having an AR has re-surged. I'm thinking a flat top is the best way to go for this kind of optic. I don't think I want a picatinny rail for the barrel, I'd like something lighter that I could still affix other accessories should I choose to add them, but if I can shave more weight by getting a traditional A2 for-grip or Magpul I might do that instead. I'm not looking to have lasers and all manors of tactical gear on the rifle. Weight is probably the most important factor to me right now.

I recently looked at the CORE-15 Keymod and while it has the overall features that appear to look good on paper and it looks nice, it's a tad heavy.

I also looked at a flat top DPMS Oracle, but I'm thinking for under $500 something has to give. It weighs less than the CORE 15 Keymod as well as the Bushy XM15-E2S I had. It does have a little picatinny rail right at the end of the for-grip that allows installation of some manor of sight. Might consider adding magpul popup sights unless it's completely unnecessary. I get conflicting information about this.

I'll go ahead and stop there and await some feedback before I get carried away. I'm just looking to get pointed in the right direction.

joe sixgun