Help!! - 9mm load for steel??

jawper

Just found out that some of the targets at the Blackwater IDPA match will be steel. They will need to be knocked down in order to be counted as neutralized. Normally, on cardboard, 115 grain 9mm out of my P7M8 is just fine. Against steel, the organizer suggested I bring some +P or heavier weight stuff. The match is this weekend so I ran over to my local store today and picked up some Win 147 grain FMJ in the white box (has a slightly flattened tip). Seemed to perform just fine (damn P7 feeds anything - boring!) and shot just a tad high.

My other option, I suppose, is to use some defensive stuff (have standard pressure 147, +P 115, +P 125, and +P+ 115 available) but I think that might be a waste.

Does this sound like something which will be effective on the steel targets? Any other suggestions? Forgive the ignorant question but I've never done this before and would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

------------------
Best,
- Jawper

Clark

I have nuke loads for the 9mm.
Quick load estimates some of them at 70,000 psi.
That cannot be right, I have not had a bulged case yet.
The model in Lee's "Modern Reloading" puts the pressures at 45,000 psi.
I think Quick load is having trouble with compressed loads [fill case to top and compress with bullet until hollow point closes]]

Hard Case

Do you reload? If so, I shot in an IPSC once with my 9mm and I found that a 125 gr. LTC (lead truncated cone) standard reload would make the plates lay down with no problem. If you are a factory ammo man I would say stick with the 125 or 125+P. The bullet drop on a 147 is terrible once the paper targets start getting further away and the added recoil does nothing to help inprove your time especially if you are not used to shooting 147's alot.

EQP