Hello and 1st question from new member

Charles Johnson

This is my 1st post, so I thought I'd describe myself a little. I've owned several firearms for the last few years and I've held a FL concealed weapon and firearm license for a couple years now. I have more experience with handguns than rifles, but I have some experience with a SIG SHR970 with synthetic stock in .308 and to a lesser degree an older Winchester in 30-06.

My 1st question is: my favorite local gun shop has an SHR970 with walnut stock in 7mm Rem Mag that they have marked down to $500 from $550. I believe this is a pretty good deal since the SHR970 in the .308/synthetic stock was $500 also. I'm wanting a more powerful rifle and I love the smooth action of the SIG :). I'm wanting to get the most accurate cartridge and may hunt with it in the future. My most immediate concern is having a fun, accurate rifle to build my skills with.

Now I know the 7mm Rem Mag will have considerably more recoil than the 308. I have put as many as 60 rounds through the 308 before it got to my shoulder. THis is with the original recoil pad. However, the 30-06 turned my shoulder red after just 3 rounds. I'm not sure if the 30-06 had a recoil pad. How does the '06 compare to the 7 Rem Mag in recoil? Will I have any problem compensating with after market recoil pads?

For the record, I love powerful weapons :):cool::) and I don't think I'll have any problem. But I want to ask the experts before I go overboard.

RHC

Welcome to TFL. You'll find lots of great info here.

You'll have better luck getting answers if you
give more specific info as the subject of your post, such
as the type of rifle you want to research.

For example, you could have used

"SHR970 $500 - good price?" as the subject.

As far as your specific question, I have no idea.

jbgood