Hardness of Lead Round Ball, Mini Ball, and Old West Cartridges

rodwhaincamo

Can anyone tell me if pure lead or an alloy was used for lead round ball, the mini ball, as well the old west cowboy loads?
What caliber(s) and weight were the mini balls, and what kind of velocity could they achieve?

Rangefinder

pure lead (or as close to as could be achieved) would be the typical. My 1851 navy shoots 135gr. round ball and 180gr. conical. Couldn't tell you velocities off-hand though.

Pretty sure the early cowboy loads were also pure, though I'm no expert on that issue.

Round balls for muzzleloaders and Minie balls generally were pure lead.

As I understand it, US companies didn't start alloying (with tin) lead for bullets until right around the end of the Civil War, and that was primarily to aid with casting qualities.

Antimony, to the best of my knowledge, didn't come into use until into the smokeless powder age.

Mercury was also used as a hardening agent, from what I understand.

Mercury amalgamates easily with lead, which is how it used to be used to remove leading from a bore. Turns the lead into a weak, brittle, chalk-like textured amalgam. And that happens at room temperature, so getting mercury to combine with lead is no problem. Perhaps if the amalgam is melted and diluted with a lot more lead, you'll get some hardening without excessive embrittlement, but I don't know? Not about to try, either, as the mercury fumes coming off the melt would be toxic, and condensation of mercury or deposition of its oxides on surfaces around the melt could also cause significant contamination issues.

What Nick said.

Mercury hardening was primarily a British thing, and I've only seen references to it being done in the late 1800s. I don't think it survived into the smokeless powder age.

Oh, look at this! A thread from 2001 that talks about this...