Hard cast vs. Jacketed bullets?

dairycreek

Although I have loaded for rifle for some years I am new to loading for handguns. I know almost nothing about hard cast bullet reloading. If I am loading for a 240 grain hard cast bullet is the power data in a reloading manual for a jacketed bullet of the same weight accurate? Or, at least, close such that I can work up a load withoug blowing myself up. Sure would like some ideas here. Good shooting:)

labgrade

Member In Memoriam
Never hurts to get the Lyman manual if you're going to start fooling around with cast bullets - no matter the manufacturer. If nothing else, it's a great explanation of all things cast.

That said, a quick check in a couple manuals for .44 mag shows a 245 gr cast - Bluedot (min/max) of 15.0/18.4 & 2400 = 19.4/23.4
A Hornady 240 jacketed gives BD = 17.1/18.7 & 2400 = 19.8/22.2

Use it for comparison purposes only, please.

C.R.Sam

Second the vote for Lyman Reloading Handbook.

Should have at least two loading books anyway, and cover to cover read em all.

Sam

Blackhorse

Been loading 240 hard cast for my Smith 29, with 14 grains of accurate #5, chrony at about 1500, seem to be quite accurate with minimal leading. And a lot cheaper to shoot then jacketed.

blades67

Lyman #47 and Speer #13 are the two manuals I use for cast, and swaged, lead loads. The best thing you can do for your gun is to first slug your barrel so that you can size the bullet for the bore and avoid leading.

Alan R

Same weight are the operative words. Assuming properly sized and lubed, hardcast bullets will operate at higher velocities and lower pressures than jacketed bullets OF THE SAME WEIGHT. You are OK in using published jacketed bullet loads for cast bullets (of same weight). NEVER substitute jacketed bullets for published, high velocity & pressure hardcast bullet loads.

Are you in North Plains, OR?

RWAMOS

lead