Hammer Down

'88Scrat

Just out of curiosity how do you store your firearms? Hammer down or cocked on safe? I'm talking about a firearm truly in storage, not a nightstand/concealed carry setup.

Whether it be AR15, M1 Garand, Glock 19, CZ Scorpion, Yugo 59/66, or Remington 700 I've always stored hammer down. Years ago I had a gunsmith tell me it was better for longevity but I question how much difference it could make. That said, I still do it...

aarondhgraham

I'm not an engineer or metallurgist,,,
But I can't see any advantage in storing something with tension on it's springs.

JMHO

Aarond

'88Scrat

Just to be clear, in this context hammer down means trigger pulled with hammer in the uncocked position. Not sure I have the nomenclature correct but hopefully you get what I'm describing.

Sharkbite

When put “in storage” (vs ready to use), i dont make a big deal about what position the hammer is in. I dont think it make enough of a difference to be measured with regards to spring set.

When they are stored “ready to use”, i make sure long guns are Stored “cruiser ready”. Hammer down on an empty chamber, full mag tube or mag in place.

44 AMP

Staff
Modern guns, I don't think it matters much, other than as a matter of consistency on your part.

Older guns, pre-WWII and anything that uses flat, leaf springs should not be stored with tension on the spring. Ever.

Also, for long term storage, REMOVE THE LUBE!!!

A rust preventative meant for long term storage is good, but the regular lubricating oil is not. Over time (years) the liquid carrier dries out, leaving behind something more like shellac than oil. The effect on operation will vary with the gun and the amount of dried oil.

When my father passed, I went to his place and found his 1911A1 in his dresser drawer. The gun had not been touched in at least 10 years. Magazine loaded, chamber empty.