Half frame or full frame???

Bozman

Hey Guys I am completely new to blackpowder handgus, I've shot a few muzzle loaders but thats it. I want to get a black powder handgun (something like a .36), But I'm not sure what to get yet. what would you guys recommend to someone new? Half frame or full frame? which to you find easier to clean/disassemble?

Thanks in advance!

Bozman

Steve499

Welcome to TFL, Bozman. I'm going to assume by half frame you are referring to the open top Colt design and full frame would be like the Remington design.

Both designs have a fan club but neither is a clear winner for me. I like both. The Colt is easier to clean.... until you start cleaning the internal parts. There are more screws to remove to access the inside. The Colt is handsomer to some and the 1851 navy style is often cited as the ideal revolver ergonomically. The Colt has a longer sight radius than the Remington given the same barrel length. The Colt requires some pretty precise tolerances to function correctly and so it's maybe more likely you'll get a bad one if the manufacturer's quality control is sub-standard. (or non-existant, like Palmetto's)

The Remington is sturdier due to the solid frame. It's internals are accessed by removing the grips and one screw in the floorplate/trigger guard. It lends itself easily to changing cylinders or to conversion for cartridges. It can be retro fitted with adjustable rear sights if that becomes necessary. Personally, I think the Remington is a shade easier to load due to a more generous cut out in the frame at the rammer. My Colt is small, however, and it's been some time since I loaded a standard framed one so my opinion is based on that small (pocket size) frame experience.