Guns and Motorcycles

Status
Not open for further replies.

vito

I wonder how many gun rights supporters are also motorcyclists. It seems to me that someone who beleives in the concept of self responsibility rather than counting on the police for all forms of protection, would also be the type person who would enjoy riding despite the higher risk (compared to driving in a car or truck). Where I live, in northern Illinois, there is a movement in the County to push for a concealed carry ordinance (not allowed under Illinois state law) and at a public hearing on the issue it looked like an awful lot of motorcyclists (based on appearance and some comments).

chris in va

I've been riding for 3 years. Generally speaking, I find the folks that ride longer distances tend to pack more often. I carry every time I go out on the bike, whether it's to the store or on a long trip.

hoytinak

I've been into guns/shooting for 15 years, had my CHL for about 8 years and just got my first motorcycle at the beginning of this summer. I carry while running around town or a longer road trip too.

Majic

I have been swinging a leg over the seat for better than 30 years now and shooting for over 40 years. Sometimes I carry and sometimes I don't.

Hemicuda

got my first gun from my Dad at 5 years of age... got my first motorcycle (dirtbike) from him that same summer... both were beat up used things... I still have that gun, and my god-child has the bike... that was 33 years ago...

I still have a bike or 2 around, and ride regularly... usually while packing a handgun...

I have been riding for about 36 years now...which is about the same amount of time I have been shooting. I started riding regularly when I was 6 years old. I rode motocross as a kid and that expanded to a love of street bikes as an adult. In fact, for the vast majority of my early adult years I owned a motorcycle instead of a car.