Gun Safe Placement?

Roadrunner

My wife disagrees with me on where I would like to place my gun safe (approx. 5'x3'x1.5'). I would like it put in our ground-floor level storage closet. She wants it in the garage. If it goes into the closet, we would have to spend time rearranging it and looking for other storage areas for items that are displaced by the safe.

With my wife of 8 years, I'm still learning what battles I can win and I don't think I'm going to win this one. We live in a townhouse in Northern Virginia and the garage dosen't get too cold in the winter and stays cool during the summer. Given that, do you think placing the gun safe in the garage is a good idea? Whatever temperature changes that may occur, would they affect my firearms? My main concern is seasonal temperature changes (though minimal I believe) on my firearms.

If it goes in the garage, I plan on building a wooden/plywood shell around it with a door so it looks like a large storage container from the outside.

Thanks.

USP45

If your guns are in the garage:
- they are useless to you when you need them
- they are suseptable to excess humidity
- they are easier to steal

If your guns are in the house:
- You can get them when you need them (i.e. 0'dark-thirty)
- they are more likely climate controlled
- they are harder to steal as the theif would need to enter
the main section of the household

LTC K

I would be very worried about guns rusting if the safe goes in the garage. If you are forced into this, buy the best quality dehumidifier you can find to put inside the safe, and check all of your guns real often.