Gun Buying Etiquet?

NewShooter78

Hello to all,
I am somewhat new to the whole firearms world. I've bought before, but I feel at the mercy of "nice" gun store owners/salespeople. I am wondering if any of you have advice for purchasing fireamrs in the respect of haggling prices and/or the inclusion of accessories. I'm confident in myself about being able to talk to people on the subject of price because I too was once a salesman. But what I don't want to do is to walk into someone's shop and then piss them off with trying to talk them down in price by bringing up things like, "well I saw this on gunbroker.com for about $100 less." ANY insight into this would be much apreciated. Thanks!

Chazman

I Did

When I went to buy my SAR-1 The gunstore I use had them for $379. Knowing I could order one on the net for $299 I asked them how much they would charge to do a transfer. They stated $25. I then told them about the internet deal and they lowered the price to $325. I believe that most gunstores will try to work with you. Bear in mind though, sometimes the profit margin on some guns are not that much and they may refuse.

All in all it never hurts to ask as "Talk is cheap."

buzz_knox

The best way of buying weapons is to start by doing your research and build up a database of prices (retail, internet, wholesale if you can do it). Do this for every weapon you are or might be interested in. Then, shop around. If you see something you like, you'll have a base price in your head to work from. Add in taxes, overhead, etc. and don't expect to get something from a retail outlet for the same price you might get it from a 'net source, where there may be no middleman. If you like the retailer, you can think of it as paying a little extra to help the local guy out.