Greetings from Arizona..

GWbiker

..where it's cold in the winter and HOT in the summer. But hey, it's a dry heat.

I've been using firearms since summer of 1957 during basic training exercises at Fort Knox, Kentucky. Shooting ammo boxes and boxes and boxes of 30.06 in a worn out M1 Grand, while the red ants crawled over me. Didn't need no eye protection and no hearing protection in those days, 'cause we didn't have any!

For the past 30 some years I've held CCW permits in several Pennsylvania counties and more recently in Arizona. I worked at a maximum security state correctional facility in Pennsylvania for 20 years where we had to weapons qualify each year.

My favorite CCW side arms are .45, 9mm and "J" frame .38sp. Home defense is a 18.5" barrel shotgun with #4 shot.

I thought I would jump in here and say how much I enjoy reading this forum for it's wealth of information on various topics.

So, please carry on.....!

skeeter1

Welcome aboard

TFL is a great place, and there's lots of great info here if you search the archives.

I'm partial to my .38 for SD/HD, but that's just me. I've also got another 10-or-so firearms (rangeing from .22 to 12-gauge) near by. That's enough for me.

GWbiker

20 years in corrections? Hmmm, ADC will pay for experiance, if you wanna go back...

No thank you, thanks, but no thanks!!! 20 years of constant stress is enough for one life time. Enduring a full blown inmate riot, dozens of exercise yard fights and housing unit brawls, inaddition to supervising a level five RHU damn near killed me. I've already turned down job offers from California Department of Corrections and from ADC. What good are piles of money if you're not around to spend it??? Uh, did I say no thanks for the offer?

At my age, I just wanna' ride my motorcycles, tour the southwest states, drink some beer, shoot guns and chase women....;)

SteelJM1