Greetings from a South African

Odd Job

Hello all, I just registered today and hope to make some new connections here, particularly anybody involved in the medical and forensic side of things.

I am a radiographer who has a lot of experience from a Johannesburg trauma unit and gunshot wounds are my specialty. We were getting about 150 gunshot victims a month at the hospital where I did permanent night duty for almost 4 years.
I have some experience in the handling and use of firearms and in South Africa I carry a 9mm pistol. At the moment I am in London, so no opportunity to keep my eye in with pistols unfortunately.

Anyway, if there are questions about X-rays, imaging and forensic radiology or gunshot wounds feel free to ask. I will be asking some questions to do with ammunition so that I can finish the book on gunshot wounds that I am writing.

:)

Dre_sa

im also south african!

im sure youll find this forum site to be very informative. there are a good bunch of people here.
Enjoy your time here.

Harry Callahan

Welcome aboard. Nice handle too. I'm a newbie also. One question, though. Doesn't South Africa have some of the most oppressive gun laws on the planet? How are you able to possess these instruments of death?

Odd Job

@ All: thanks for the warm welcome

@ Harry

Yes it is difficult to get a firearm licence in South Africa and it is going to get even more difficult. In the days before the regime change I got the .25 pistol because I was going everywhere on a bicycle and it was convenient to carry. The only problem I had encountered at that stage was a pack of dogs that tried to get me off my bicycle and the .25 was 'noise value.' And of course the crime rate hadn't shot up by that stage.