Good time to sell off brass?

veprdude

I've been collecting brass I've shot for the last 15 years or so. I pick it up because one day I might get into reloading. I never get around to it. With all the hoopla is this a good time to sell some of it off? Or are the other components the limiting reactant here?

TJB101

Certain brass is hard to find. (44Mag for me), others abound. Depends of what you have. Primers and certain powders are the biggest supply issues right now outside of brass.

armoredman

Agreed, primers and powder are the hardest to come by, but also agreed, some specialty brass is also harder to find, because people are shooting the oddballs less, due to supply chain issues. Sure, put it up for sale - you'll probably get some bites. Heck, people are buying 9mm and 5.56mm brass right now, too.

std7mag

Primers & bullets are hardest to find in my area.
I'm shooting my "obsolete" cartridges more. The local shops didn't sell out of my oddball as quickly.

List up the brass you have.
If nothing else, price of scrap is up.

Shadow9mm

The only thing that has been hard for me to find is primers and 357 mag brass. Powder selection has been limited, but I have always been able to find something. Longest wait on bullets was about 2 months. But they mostly seem to be in stock now too.

If you want to get into reloading it's not impossible by any means, just a bit challenging. I would still with straight wall pistol cartridges starting out, as they are a lot easier than bottle necked rifle

Last edited:

MarkCO

Why would you not get a press and get set up to reload, at least over a few months when you can find what you need. Brass and bullets are pretty much available now. Powder, less so and primers less. But it is loosening up and I have seen prices fall. Presses are more available too.

jag2