Going to a gun range in another state

Jen-from-IL

I'm planning a vacation to the North Carolina/Tennessee are in a few weeks and had a question. I'm an Illinois resident who has yet to obtain a FOID card (only state in the US at requires such a thing). I was wondering if, even though I am not able to legally own a gun or even go to a gun range in Illinois, is it possible to do so in NC or TN? I would be renting a gun at the range, of course.

Ah, to live in such a 'gun friendly' state (SARCASM). :)

Jen-from-IL

Yes you can. You can't even go and rent a gun at a range in IL w/o an FOID?

Unfortunately I cannot, unless I am with someone who has a valid FOiD card. I cannot buy ammo either. So yep, big pain in the butt and incredibly frustrating. I want to get some practice in before my next class (possibly in September or October).

MLeake

You can rent and handle them in most other states.

You can not legally buy them in other states, unless you have the seller ship them to an Illinois FFL, and then you are back to needing the FOID. (Handguns)

You can not legally buy long guns in other states, since under federal law the guns you could purchase would only be those you could legally own in Illinois, which in your case is none (I think) without the FOID.

You could establish a residence in another state, at which point you could buy and own at that residence in accordance with the laws of that state.

Edit: If you are going to the Knoxville area of the TN/NC line, there is a decent indoor range with rentals at Oak Ridge.

There is a range in Maryville called "Gunny's" that I prefer, but I don't remember if they have rentals.

Jen-from-IL

I've contacted a couple ranges via email so will wait to see what replies I get (if any).