Glock and 1911 have the most important thing in common

Dr45ACP

A consistent trigger pull. I think any gun that works DA/SA is inately more difficult to shoot well. It would also seem to me that transitioning between the first DA shot and subsequent SA shots would be quite difficult under a stressfull situation (ie, if someone was attacking you).

When i was a novice, one of my first guns was a beretta 92. Seems like the more i learn, the more likely i am to buy 1911s and Glocks... and have also noticed i have moved from 9mm to 45.

opinions?

jdthaddeus

Yep. That is why I stick to 1911's and Glocks.
I collect and shoot 1911's for fun, and I carry Glocks.
I demand the same trigger pull for my most important first and second shots.

The thing is, many shooters take their Sig or Berretta or other gun to the range and shoot all day long in single action mode with their double action guns.
They load the gun, chamber a round, and shoot in SA mode all day long.

They never consider that that is NOT how the gun will shoot from the holster in that most important moment of life and death. In the moment of truth, when they draw that gun, the first (most important!) shot will be in double action with the long heavy pull, and then the second shot (of special concern for a double tap) will have a totally different trigger pull.

I also think that this is why Glocks are so popular in competition, and why there is so much bickering between Glock shooters and 1911 shooters. Both are ingenius, timeless, influential designs and both excel from the holster.

Another thing that Glocks and 1911's have in common is that they have very short trigger resets. In fact, I just gave my Glock a trigger job and installed a trigger stop to make the trigger reset even shorter. This makes for a very sweet, crisp trigger break and reset!

[This message has been edited by jdthaddeus (edited November 10, 2000).]

Tamara

Moderator Emeritus