Glock Accessories?

DieHard06

Hi. This is my first post on this board, though I have been reading for several months now. Just to tell you all a little bit about myself, I am a pastor who moved to PA back in September. I have loved guns all my life, but never got anything but a bb gun. My wife hates guns because her father murdered her mother when she was ten. I finally convinced her to agree to me buying a gun in March and after much research I decided that the first gun I would buy would be a Glock because they are my favorite.

I bought a Glock 19, joined a range club and the NRA, and pretty much read this forum everyday.

One day while at the range an older man was there and we struck up a conversation. He ended up letting me shoot his Colt 1911 .45 and I was amazed that the recoil was about the same as my 9mm. He said he had had it "tightened" and had put 3.5 lb trigger on it. I was wondering if anyone else has replaced the spring and guide rod with a sprinco spring or something like that and if anyone has replaced their trigger? How does it affect the gun and are there any negative side affects? Also, I was wondering what people change on their Glocks?

P.S. I have now bought a second gun, a mossberg 500, and I think my wife is starting to come around and accept guns. One day she might be going to the range with me:)

DonR101395

All I replace is the factory plastic sights with steel sights. The majority of problems I've seen in the Glocks I've worked on are because of "upgrades". The minus (-) connector is ok for a range/game gun but I'm not a fan of it for a carry gun. Some folks like the NY1 trigger with the - connector. It gives you a trigger pull close to the stock 5.5 with a faster trigger reset.

YMMV

Desertscout1