Glock 36C

denfoote

I am thinking of having my G36 Mag-Na-Ported.
I have a few questions.

• 1) Does the process screw up the Tennifer heat treat of my slide and barrel????

2) I have Trijicon night sights. Will the ports screw those up?

3) With respect to (1) above, if so, can I have the slide and barrel re-heat treated????

I'm not so much interested in the upward flash aspect of the process. I am interested in taming the recoil of +P loads. The only time I shot +P through it (Triton 165gr +P), the gun durn near flew out of my hands!!! :eek:

This, plus the Trijicons, the 3.5lb connector and reduced power triger spring, and the extended slide release, will give me one really neat tricked out Glock!!! As well as allow me to shoot the most powerful .45ACP loads available through the best subcompact pistol on the market today!!!!! :D :cool:

Shields up!!! Phasors at standby!!!
Comments and answers, Ladies and Gentlemen. :confused:

forby

Well, I'm far from an expert on the subject, however I've read a lot about it.

Porting does of course reduce muzzle lift but:

1. It causes flash to be directed upward thereby affecting your night vision.

2. It also sends hot debris flying out and onto your arms and possibly face.

3. It reduces the velocity of the bullet slightly.

4. Finally, it requires a different approach with retentive firing so as not to catch your clothes on fire!

I personally would shoot a 185 gr. at standard pressure instead of porting.

Just my two cents.

ajacobs

1) Does the process screw up the Tennifer heat treat of my slide and barrel????

Tennifer is not a heat treat process it is a chemical process and a few mills thick. The porting will not screw up the process but in the porting you may expose some untreated metal.

2) I have Trijicon night sights. Will the ports screw those up?

Nope

3) With respect to (1) above, if so, can I have the slide and barrel re-heat treated????