Glock 20 experts

Dirty_Harry

I am looking to trade my 29 towards a 20. I really just like the bigger gun better, and the 20 seems like the perfect gun for the Michigan woods.

I have a couple deals on the table. One is for a Gen 2, with a 100 rounds of ammo, 4 mags, NDZ stainless guide rod with 17# ISMI spring and a holster. (I would have no money out of pocket on this deal) The other is for a brand new Gen 3 (I am pretty sure its a gen 3) for $517. I would have to come up with some cash.

Is there that much of a difference between the Gen 2 and 3? I know about the finger grooves and rail, but is there anything else?

I am not a Glock expert, but I am leaning towards the Gen 2.

Thanks.

Dan-O

I'd go gen 2 all the way. And you might as well pitch that 17" spring. Way under sprung for any glock, let alone a 10mm.

The_Shadow

Many are having issues with the G-20 Gen 4's, although some are working well. The G-20SF seems to be the better option and the route I and a few other have taken...My SF has been 100%

jmr40

Both will likely be fine, I'd expect both to be equally accurate and reliable. I like the finger grooves and being able to mount a light on the rail is a big plus for me. I'd buy the Gen 3.

Theohazard

Dan-O said:
I'd go gen 2 all the way. And you might as well pitch that 17" spring. Way under sprung for any glock, let alone a 10mm.
Also make sure to get rid of the aftermarket stainless guide rod. The original guide rod is plastic for a reason: It's designed to be able to flex under recoil, especially with the extra recoil of full-power 10mm loads.

Last edited:

bamaranger

G20 by default

I've got an early G20, no grooves, a Gen 2 I guess. I answered an ad for a Delta, and it was gone, but the guy had a G20 for the same price, so I bought it. And it serves exactly as you mention, as a full house woods gun. Powerful, rugged, flat and easy to tote. Lots of rounds on tap too.