getting carbon deposits out of .357 chambers

stevieboy

I'm like many of this Forum's members, I often fire .38 specials from my .357 magnum revolvers. That's fine, except that there's a tendency for rings of carbon to build up in the chambers at the point where the .38 shell casing ends and the bullet begins. And, that can cause a problem for subsequent chambering of .357 rounds due to the narrowing of the chambers and the resulting pressure increase brought about by that.

Cleaning the carbon out has been an ongoing issue for me ever since I started shooting. I've tried literally dozens of methods, many of them suggested by Forum members. Some of them worked, some didn't, and at least for me, none of them were easy and quick.

However, yesterday, I hit on a solution that was so mind-bendingly simple that I was stunned at my failure to think of it sooner. I was buying gun cleaning supplies and, as I selected a .38/.357 chamber brush the thought occurred to me, why not try a .40 caliber chamber brush instead? So, I bought a brush in .40, brought it home and proceeded to brush out the chambers of my carbon-fouled Model 66. The results were instant, brushing each chamber for only a few seconds with the larger diameter brush removed all of the carbon deposits. A quick, easy, and painless solution to a problem that I've wrestled with for years. Just thought I share this information.

aarondhgraham

Now we must hate you a little stevieboy,,,

A quick, easy, and painless solution to a problem that I've wrestled with for years.

If you would have given me just one more day I would have come up with that solution as well. :rolleyes:

Nice idea my friend,,,
I'm gonna try it out myself.

Buzzcook

I read a post about belling out a .357 case to scrape out the build up. Haven't tried it myself, but it sounded like a good idea.

"JJ"