Getting an idea of what I want...

Nightcrawler

Getting and idea of what I want...

I figured out why I've been under such strain in deciding what handgun I want. I've been operating under the insane assumption that I can only get one! (I know, I know, but I'm new to handguns, as I don't turn 21 until this June.)

Through some thinking, though, I've got a lineup starting to form.

-Traditional looking 1911, either Springfield Mil-Spec or one of the New Colts, preferably parkerized.

-CZ85B 9mm

-Ruger 5" bright stainless .44 Mag Vaquero

For starters. :D

croyance

I thought the angst was over which first gun you should get, not the one and only.
Good list. I second the opinion on the .22 LR. When I need to iron out some bad shooting habits, it is the gun I turn to. Fortunately, there have been many threads on which .22 LR to get lately.

Nightcrawler

An idea occurred to me. To save myself some cash but not sacrifice quality, I might get a Ruger P90 right now and a 1911 later. I've heard good things about the Rugers, and I like the control layout (both manual safety and decocker). They're also strong, having originally been designed for 10mm.

foghornl

I'm not an absolute diehard Ruger fan, but I do like their offerings. I have a KP90 .45ACP, SS matte finish uppers, alloy frame, and decent sights. (3 white-dot). $420 in my local gunshop last October, and it goes BANG! every time I mash the trigger, no matter what's in the magazine. Comes with 8-round magazines, and I have seen a few places that have 10-rounders, although I haven't bought any.
Like several other folks, I would add a .22 to the list.
Good luck , and good shooting.

Shmackey

If you can afford the Ruger, you can afford the CZ. The Ruger's solid, but the CZ outclasses it left and right. I've owned the CZ and shot the Rugers; there's no comparison.

Ceol Mhor