Free floating the Weatherby Vanguard

wbw

First let me say that I have very little experience with rifles and I'm not much of a gunsmith. I've been much more of a handgun guy. I do have a 10/22 and I'm getting a Savage 17 HMR. I'm also now thinking about a 223 bolt rifle and the Weatherby Vanguard is near the top of my list. I've read good reviews of it, and it is supposed to come with a 3 shot MOA. But I'm also reading that the barrel is not free floated. I'm wondering if I got one of these, couldn't I just lightly remove some of the stock material until it is free floating? Or is it not that easy?

I don't hunt and I don't shoot competitively, so I really don't need the utmost accuracy. But I'm thinking that even for a non-gunsmithing type of guy like me, free floating shouldn't be that difficult. Am I wrong? (Or should I just consider the Howa instead?) And please remember that I have almost no experience with this sort of thing before you beat me up.

Thanks for any input.

Edited to add: I'm also looking at the T/C Venture.

tangolima

Shoot the rifle first. It may just be good enough for what you need. I have a bunch of old rifles that I tinker with. I only tinker when they fail to meet my standard of better than 2 MOA at 100yd with iron sight. Some just do that even without free floating. In fact, a few of them even got worse when I floated the barrel. I had to shim the barrel. One mosin nagant and one smle #1 mk 3. They all have long skinny barrels.

-TL

DPris

Member Emeritus
Vanguard IIs come with excellent accuracy & are deliberately set up NOT to be free-floated.

Mine in .223 has done three shots in just a hair over a half inch at 100 yards.
There's no way I'm going to risk losing that & no need to even try to improve on it.

Don't automatically assume that free-floating a barrel is always either needed or beneficial.
Get the gun, shoot it with different loads & a GOOD scope, and you'll probably find there's no need to mess with it.