Fort Worth Gun Show Question

mcd_sports

I'm a shooting newbie. When I found out the FW Gun Show was coming to town this weekend, I got real excited to go check it out. However, as I have been reading a few things today, my excitement is waning... The more I read, the more it sounds like it is a few guns (that I may or may not be allowed to handle), some ammo, accessories, and then a lot of Beef Jerky tables and collectibles. True? Is it worth the money to go check it out? I'm not ready to buy yet, but want to check stuff out.
Also - thoughts on taking a couple of my kids (13 and 10) that are getting into guns as well? The 10 year old is free, but I'll have to pay for the 13 year old. Is this going to be worth my $20 or so?

Thanks in advance for any info/thoughts

Walter

IMHO,:rolleyes:, I've been going to gun shows in the DFW area since around 1978
(give or take a year), and for my money, the Dallas Arms Collectors Association gun show at Market Hall in Dallas is the best there is. And no, I am neither a member of the association, nor affiliated with the show in any way, except as a paying customer. If I just want to browse, handle different guns, and scrounge for deals, I go to the DACA show. If I am looking for a specific item, I may go to the Ft. Worth show.
Like I said, just my personal opinion. And nothing personal against the Ft. Worth show, it's just not as big (and interesting) as the Market Hall gun show.

Walter

I second what Walter said. The FW gun show is nowhere near as big as the Dallas Market Hall show, but IIRC it is mostly firearms, with some ammo and some (not excessive) jerky, books, jewelry, etc.

The Dallas show has more of everything, but I wouldn't hesitate to go to a FW show if I was in the area. :cool:

medalguy