Followed me home... 66 w/3" barrel

ZWolfgang

I have been eyeing a 3" 66 in a local pawnshop for a couple of months... this last week I decided to visit the shop, and if it was still there I was going to buy it... well, it was there, and now it's here. The gun was in excellent mechanical condition with a nice, smooth action, but the finish was not exactly "fresh"... it wore the badges of being around a while... scuffs, light scratches, kinda dirty, but all stuff I knew I could zap with a little home refinishing job... so I got her home, stripped her down to the bone, did a surface "peel" with a ScotchBITE pad, followed with Flitz on cotton bore swabs. Cleaned out the insides, did a little action polishing, put her back together, buttoned her up, and put on some Ahrends grips. She's a much happier revo now! Here are some pics from today...

66-4_LF1583.jpg

66-4_L1574.jpg

66-4_RF1578.jpg

66-4_LR1579.jpg

100W_Warlock

How do you take such nice pics?

How do you take such nice pics?

Is that an old pair of jeans as the backdrop?

Please, do tell us some secrets...!!!

Russ5924

Have had a Model 66 with 4" barrel for awhile have to say one of my favorites.When I really want to look good I take that :p

ZWolfgang

100W...I have the benefit of years of professional experience with a camera and lighting. These were done with available light in my gun room... a north facing window to the back left and a floor torchiere lamp illuminating the upper walls and ceiling to the left and some reflectors to bounce some of that light around onto the gun. Open north light is a very cold colored light as compared with incandescent room light, that's why you see a mix of both warm light and cold light on the gun. Camera was a Canon 20D with 17-85 zoom lens. Camera on tripod with electronic cable release. ISO 200, f/11, exposure about .8 second. Used one of my denim shirts as a background. Pretty simple, really. But it does help that I've done this for a living for many years.