Fl. Vehicle Carry.. Asking For Trouble??

karstho

Need input/Advice

I am a Fairly Recent Firearms owner and and somewhat familiar with the Firearms laws for Florida.

I drive a commercial van for a living and until recently carried my firearm "Securely Encased" In a pistol case on the passengers seat. After a while I discovered that this was not working due to a few incidents of abrupt stops, starts, etc. which caused my pistol, case and all, to fly onto the floorboard. To resolve this I invested in a inexpensive thumbreak holster and proceded to clip it to a tote box which sits in between driver and passenger seats. This seemed ideal as the gun does not move whatsoever and sits ready next to my thigh if need be. Until Today.... As I was driving on the Interstate an 18 wheeler happened to be pacing at a similar speed in the right hand lane. I looked over to give a friendly nod just in time to notice him doing a double/triple take at me!! I then realized that at his level he could see my pistol plain as day!!! Now from what I have read it says my pistol "IS" securely encased in a snapped holster, but am still concerned that I may have a problem... Any Suggestions/Comments????

:confused:

RikWriter

Well, first off, you would be best off just going ahead and getting a CCW permit. They aren't that hard to get.
Second, you would be safer legally keeping the pistol in some sort of glove compartment. Failing that, how about a tool box you could put between the seats?

karstho

Thanks for the advice....

Should have metioned that I'm taking My CCW class tomorrow. Turnaround time for permit seems to be the full 90 days from what im told... Wish me luck!!!:D

P.S. Glove box would be great If my van only had one!! D#$N DUAL AIRBAGS!!

Redlg155

It is easy to get a Concealed Carry Permit in Florida. It is also available for Non Residents as well as residents, so there is really no excuse not to get one if you intend on carrying in Florida.