first time at a gun range

towncarblue

i moved to ohio recently and bought a glock 19 as well as a desert eagle micro.
i am a complete newbee to firearms.

i only took the glock 19[laser max installed] to the range and i did terrible. i kept missing my target by a huge margin [6" in all directions]. i got better when i pulled the trigger halfway then aimed , but i couldnt hold the glock straight as i fired[i think its called recoil?]
i went ahead and rented a bersa thunder .380 limited edition. i did alot better with that firearm , i was pretty close to my intended target , the recoil was a good amount less for me, i could fire alot more rounds while staying close to my target.
right now as a self defense for me i need to choose myself another firearm[glock was my primary self defense weapon] until i get better with the glock

the bersa thunder .380 that i fired had a trigger pull as a revolver has when the hammer is pulled back [very short trigger pull] do all versions of that firearm do that or is that a limited edition only feature?
the gun store had a bersa thunder .380 for sale that had double capacity 15+1 , would that firearm shoot as good as the smaller capacity .380?
are there any .380 that have the size of the glock ? i figure that a longer barrel / bigger gun has more accuracy :confused:
im looking for a low recoil .380 that is also very accurate, post suggestions under $850 :eek:

Evan Thomas

You need lessons, not more stuff.

If your range has rentals, they can probably put you in touch with an instructor. Ask.
:)

greyson97

wow you are all over the place.

my recommendation, since you already got it, is to practice with your glock 19. buy as much cheap 9mm as you can. also get some snap caps for your gun

next is to learn the shooting fundamentals. Stance, Grip, targeting. turn off that laser.

read articles on improving your handgun accuracy.
http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=365263

theres a good start.