First revolver “fail” what happened?

Josh17

Okay I’m confused here as I “jammed” my revolver today at the range, and don’t know how besides maybe I did something wrong.

I am not used to the range, so hearing loud shots going off indoors my focus isn’t 100%.. I’m still a rookie.

But I grabbed my Ruger LCR, loaded 2 rounds in it (all the 38 special rounds I brought, I had a box with only 2 left in them) then closed it, aimed, and went to pull the trigger.... The trigger felt super heavy. So I got tense thinking “wow the trigger pull is insanely hard” before realizing the trigger wouldnt work. It wouldn’t go back/let me squeeze it.

So naturally I opened the cylinder, closed it instantly, aimed, and fired no problem. I’m still confused as to what possibly could have caused the trigger to lock up the first time? It’s a Ruger LCR 38 Special.

I tried to see if I could get it to repeat, but no luck. I even tried to put rounds semi loose into the chambers and couldn’t get it to repeat... What in the world could I have done to cause that? Luckily it was fixed by opening and closing the cylinder, but had that been a Self defense situation?? Makes me wonder if something is wrong...

ALSO: gun is new (well owned it for years but onlyfired about 50 times total) and also afterwards I dry fired it dozens of times after to make sure it was fine, and no issues.

armoredman

Was the cylinder completely closed? if it was, generally a high primer on the round can cause drag, but that sounds worse than a high primer.

JohnKSa

Administrator
I can duplicate that type of failure on a Ruger GP100 by not fully closing the cylinder. However, it seems like something that is sort of unlikely to happen by accident--it seems difficult to set it up as the cylinder has a detent that makes it "want" to close that last little bit.