first post, looking for advice on first gun

madtom

hi everyone, this is my first time posting on here, so sorry for asking a question that's been asked a million times. I am looking to buy my first gun soon and am torn between the excellent advice of starting with a .22 or starting out with something that fits my needs of home-defense and carry better (say a 9mm). I have read many posts on this site and others and have come to agree that learning with a .22 is a great way to go because ammo is cheap and you can shoot until your fingers bleed and hone your skills until you're ready for something bigger. but I have also seen some make the (valid) point that you can get the same level of practice with a BB gun. so in all seriousness, am I better off getting a 9mm or .380 and pair that with a BB gun to practice in my basement? or should I go with a .22?

tahunua001

it all depends on your finances. if you have the money to go out and buy a $300- 22lr pistol and practice with it until you feel comfortable moving up to a suitable caliber for self defense and still afford to buy a second $400-600 handgun then I would advise you to go the 22lr route but if money is in short supply around your household then it is probably best to learn with a 9mm since it is easily available and ammo is cheap.

rob i

Welcome.

My first gun was a 9mm and I did just fine. The recoil in a mid-full size 9 is not overwhelming in the least.

Rob

aarondhgraham

Well, here's a way to go,,,

Get both!

There are a ton of guns out there,,,
The two I am recommending are just one pair to consider.

Bersa Thunder 22 and a Bersa Thunder 380.

29-lynn_vanessa.JPG

Right now the guns can be bought from budsgunshop.com:
The nickel plated Thunder 22 is $288.00,,,
The nickel plated Thunder 380 is only $295.00

I own both of these pistols and can vouch for their reliability,,,
The Thunder 22 is a staple when I go plinking,,,
Practice with cheap .22 LR ammunition,,,
Carry the .380 for self defense.