First Handgun Options

Contrast Man

Hello everyone!

Seeing as this is my first post, I'll begin with a little info about myself and plans for said firearm. I'm fairly new to the world of firearms, I've taken a few familiarization courses at my local range and have since been hooked and would like to shoot on a recreational basis. Home defense for this handgun is not a primary concern of mine (at this point in time) however it will take that place in the future as I will be moving to Chicago in the near future. With Chicago being stated, CCW is not an issue for me. After doing some research, I've decided to start on a .22LR platform to hone my skills. The main gun that's attracting me right now is the Sig P226 due to it's wonderful reputation as well as the ability to purchase conversion kits and essentially have multiple caliber weapons all on the same familiar frame.

My questions to you are 1) Are there other handguns available that allow quick and easy caliber conversion on the same frame? and 2) Is this method even a good(effective) idea?

My price range would be in the area of the P226 .22, preferably nothing more. I have not had a chance to spend any range time with it personally, but my range does have a rather extensive rental program which I plan on taking full advantage of soon.

Thanks in advance for your input!

Shadi Khalil

It's a great choice. Even without the conversion kit, the 226 in .9mm is easy to shoot. Glock also has kits that are just as easy to install.

pilpens

Sig and CZ have .22 pitols which can be converted to centerfire.
Keep in mind that some .22 version of a centerfire pistol do not lock open on the last shot.
Having only one manual of arms can make training simpler (muscle memory).
=====================================