finicky .338 mag

fairview mick

I have a Weatherby Vanguard in .338 Win Mag. I have tried quite a few differnt loads and I'm having trouble finding a load that will give me consistant 1 moa or better all the time. I'm shooting from a bench, using a lead sled rest. The barrel has been free floated, and I have an excellant scope. Most of the time I load Hornady 225 and 250 grain bullets at different muzzle velocities. Ther have been times that the first two shots of a group of three will be 1/4 inch and then the third will be an inch and a half. What the hell is going on??????????????????????????
MIckey

ligonierbill

How long are you waiting between shots? My Savage .338 will act like that unless I am really, really patient. It heats up real quick, and seems more affected than my 7 Mag. I have a lead sled but no longer use it. Don't think that's your issue, though. Let her cool off (always good advice!)

Metal god

I'm no expert but after reading many threads on TFL about this or something like it . It can be many things from the stress never being relieved from the barrel . This can cause the barrel to expand and contract differently in areas and the barrel shift POI . The bore may not be perfectly centered in the barrel and that can cause one side of the barrel to heat up faster then the other side and that will change POI when barrel heats up . the barrel and receiver may not be square and true to each other . As the barrel heats up the area of the barrel that is pressing more against the receiver will push the barrel in one direction causing POI shifts . Those are some of the hardware issue they may be present . Then there's the software issue ? Are you using Match grade bullets . I'm really just getting into the whole accuracy thing and the mind boggles at how many things cause inconsistencies . Are you jumping the bullet or are they pretty much up against the lands or just off ? I hear jumping can sometimes cause inconsistencies . OH so many possibility